IT’S GAY AND I LOVE IT – Yuri!!! On Ice Review

Yes, my friends. The time has come. After half an hour of being emotionally unstable, I am finally ready to share my review of one of this year’s most captivating anime – Yaoi  Yuri!!! on Ice.

As I type this, my fingers are still shaking from the amount of trauma that this show has inflicted upon me. With that said, please excuse any sudden ranting, thirstiness, or excessive fangirling that may appear in this review!

Enjoy, my little pork cutlet bowls!

PLOT

Reeling from his crushing defeat at the Grand Prix Finale, Yuuri Katsuki, once Japan’s most promising figure skater, returns to his family home to assess his options for the future. At age 23, Yuuri’s window for success in skating is closing rapidly, and his love of pork cutlets and aptitude for gaining weight are not helping either.

However, Yuuri finds himself in the spotlight when a video of him performing a routine previously executed by five-time world champion, Victor Nikiforov, suddenly goes viral. In fact, Victor himself abruptly appears at Yuuri’s house and offers to be his mentor. As one of his biggest fans, Yuuri eagerly accepts, kicking off his journey to make it back onto the world stage. But the competition is fierce, as the rising star from Russia, Yuri Plisetsky, is relentlessly determined to defeat Yuuri and win back Victor’s tutelage.

The entire plot of this anime had me shook as fuck. That is literally the only way I can describe my feelings towards this. Each moment was dramatic and just explosive. Every episode has me sitting on the edge of my couch waiting – no – craving to see the next one.

Also, there was the whole story behind Yuri and Viktor’s relationship. Most of us didn’t realize it until much later in the series, but the two characters described in Yuri’s  “Eros” performance were actually representations of his relationship with Viktor. Viktor was the scorned lover that the playboy (Yuri) had forgotten about. I just LOVE how the order of events was shown through the anime and the real intimacy shown there.

And that last episode…it did things to me. I didn’t expect Yurio to win. I didn’t expect Yuri to get second place. I didn’t expect Viktor to skate in competitions again.

AND FUCK. There was no way in hell, that I was expecting Yuri and Viktor to do a fucking couples skating routine together.

Hence, me being in a shook state for about an hour.

CHARACTERS

I LOVED EVERYONE. From my little katsudon Yuri,  to my father Viktor, my little snow angel Yurio, my sexy strippers, my little Korean baby, and my adorable Taiwanese twink.

Every character in this show can just become part of my dream harem.

WRITING

GOLLY FUCKING GEEE. The writing was epic. The writers made this show so fucking yaoi without actually stating that it was yaoi.

GRAPHICS/ART STYLE

So beautiful, especially the faces, legs, and rear-ends.

MOE

If I could, I would gladly kidnap every male character in this anime and hide them away.

ORIGINALITY

Raging homosexual ice skaters with major  inferiority complexes and stripping habits? Very original.

FANSERVICE

OHOHOHO. Was there fanservice, you ask?

screenshot-2016-11-23-at-2-16-14-pmscreenshot-2016-11-23-at-2-20-35-pmscreenshot-2016-11-23-at-2-23-58-pmscreenshot-2016-11-23-at-2-25-57-pmtumblr_oel8e3td9p1ra62dio2_r1_500screenshot-2016-11-28-at-5-30-47-pmtenortumblr_oc9ci4i13c1s22704o1_500

Vkusno!

OST

CAN YOU FEEL MY HEARTBEAT?

History Maker – Dean Fujioka

Theme of King J.J.

Shall We Skate 

BISHIES

EVERY. SINGLE. SPECIMEN. IN. THIS. ANIME.

Yes, that includes Yakov.

HUMOR

Honestly, I laughed every time Viktor and Yuri got cockblocked and that time when Yurio called that one lady “an ugly hag'”.

FEELS

SO MUCH FEELS.

Times Pink cried during YOI:

. when Yuri skated

. when Vikor skated

. When Yurio skated

. When JJ skated

. When any other character not stated above skated

. Any scene where Viktor and Yuri are together

. Any scene with Viktor in it

. That stripping scene

. When Yurio was being a tsun

. When Yurio did warm-up stretches

. When the screen zoomed in on someones legs or ass.

. When Maccachin choked on buns

. When any male character showed up on screen

. During the opening theme

. During the ending theme

. Basically the whole show

This anime satisfied my fujoshi side so well. Excuse my crudeness, but honestly, I just wanted Viktor and Yuri to fuck so bad. SO BAD.

 

PURE BADASSERY

Viktor’s savage moments of roasting people and Yurio’s savage moments of roasting Yuri.

FINAL THOUGHTS

Well, if it wasn’t obvious by now…

this-anime-is-awesome1

Seriously, how is it remotely possible than an anime that hasn’t even been classified as yaoi yet is gayer and more passionate that actual yaoi?

In all seriousness, I had a blast watching this anime. It was exciting and just utterly beautiful. And if the creators don’t make a season two….

z3YU3oJ.gif

10 thoughts on “IT’S GAY AND I LOVE IT – Yuri!!! On Ice Review

  1. HOWDAREU DO IT FASTER THAN ME, I HAD TO SLEEP 😭😭😭
    /coughs
    I CALLED IT, I SO SAID YUURI WASN’T WINNING GOLD AND YURIO WAS GOING TO, I AM PSYCHIC FEAR ME
    I KEPT TALKING ABOUT THE DUO SKATING, AND IT HAPPENED, OHYEAAAH
    I’ll kidnap them with you (͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
    Ew, no at Yaknov pls
    DAANG, YOU CRIED EVERY SINGLE TIME LMAO
    I only cried when Yuuri cried and then skated, and then the kiss
    Creepy yandere in the bottom!!!! /flees for her life
    Hiding the writer and director, cause they need to make more shows!!! 😻😻😻😻👌

    Liked by 1 person

Like what you see? Let me know what you think!

