My First Gundam Experience – Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron-Blooded Orphans Review

I have finally done it. After years of curiosity and urging, I’ve finally gathered up the courage to watch an installment of the Gundam series.

6493373542e1da886cf33168bfa9765a.gif

Believe it or not, I actually started watching this by accident. One Saturday night, I was on the Toonami channel watching anime and it came on. The remote was too far for me to grab it and change the channel, so I read manga while Iron-Blooded Orphans played in the background.

The show was already halfway through the season, so I didn’t really know what was going on. But after a couple more Saturdays of catching the episodes on Toonami, I began to understand and enjoy the show.

Eventually, I decided to watch the anime from the very beginning. Here’s what I thought about it:

PLOT

I actually did not have any major issue with the plot. Well, other than the major main character deaths. Despite that, I felt that IBO had just the right amounts of sugar, spice, and everything nice.

Also….

WHEN ARE MIKAZUKI AND KUDELIA GONNA GET TOGETHER?!

CHARACTERS

Is it possible to love almost every character in one show? If so, this would be it. Not including a few selected women and antagonists, I made a deep connection with each character of this show. If you think this is weird, wait til I get to the Bishies section.

Favorite Character: Mikazuki

Mikazuki.Augus.600.1942411.jpg

WRITING

I wasn’t surprised in the least when a cliche heroic speech would just spew out in the heat of the moment. However, my inner fujoshi squealed whenever a character would say some sort of innuendo. Overall, the writing was pretty average with some spectacular moments in between.

GRAPHICS/ART STYLE

Also pretty average. I love Orga (God, I love him so much) but what the hell is that catastrophe on top of his head?

tumblr_nrigndky8z1sp5mbyo4_400
Looking at it almost makes me want to grab a pair of gardening shears.

MOE

Was this loli chick supposed to set off my moe detector?

gundam_ibo_civilians_atra_mixta.png

If so, she failed. I think my useless-anime-side-chick detector went off instead. She constantly cockblocked Mika and Kudelia several times and tried to form some sort of twisted”Sister Wives” situation. No thanks.

 

mobile-suit-gundam-tekketsu-no-orphans-600-1970065
HE BELONGS TO KUDELIA, DAMNIT.

 

Thank God there were plenty of shotas to cleanse my eyes with.

ORIGINALITY

I’ve never seen anything like this, so it seems pretty original to me! But for those of you who have seen more of the Gundam series, is IBO considered original when compared to other installments?

FANSERVICE

OHOHOHO. Now we’re talking! Now, I would just send the multiple screenshots of abs and man-butt that this show has blessed me with, but we like to keep things classy at Pinky’s Palace.

PFFT. Who am I kidding? No we don’t!

OST

For this, I’ve decided to try something new. I’m just gonna put a list of the OST songs I really liked!

Raise Your Flag – MAN WITH A MISSION 

Survivor – BLUE ENCOUNT

Orphans no Namida – MISIA

Rage of Dust – SPYAIR 

BISHIES

Almost every guy in this anime was super good-looking.

HUMOR

Although the multiple innuendos were hilarious, the rest of the humor in the show was very dry.

FEELS

DEFINITELY.

People died. It was sad. End of story.

PURE BADASSERY

This anime was full of it. Especially those epic scenes with our dynamic duo Mika and Orga.

Also….THOSE BROFISTS KILLED ME.

tumblr_ny8ihsFrGr1r60zuio1_500.gif

 

FINAL THOUGHTS

this-anime-is-awesome1

For my first Gundam experience, this anime was so awesome! Usually, I’m not much of a mecha person, but this anime definitely makes me want to watch more of the Gundam series.

giphy (11).gif

 

14 thoughts on “My First Gundam Experience – Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron-Blooded Orphans Review

  1. Welcome…to the Gundam…fam…?
    To be honest, I haven’t followed the new ones ever since a long time ago (last one was Gundam 00 in 2009). I’m part of the Gunpla fam though c:
    I’m glad you found a Gundam series enjoyable! This motivates me to put it in my backlog (lol)

    Liked by 1 person

Like what you see? Let me know what you think!

