Dead Center! – Deadman Wonderland Review

Okay. So I fell in love with this anime at first sight, but never actually finished it. Last weekend, I got together with some friends and watched the whole anime together. Because it’s Halloween, I figured that this would be a nice treat for you guys.

MY RATINGS

PLOT

As most of you know, there are two types of plot. There’s “plot”, which refers to the storyline, and there’s “plot”, the fanservice kind. This anime has plenty of both. I loved the storyline of this so much, I could not take my eyes off the screen for even a second. There was just so much excitement and action! I did have a slight problem with the ending, though. It seemed a bit…incomplete.

CHARACTERS

This show had the best characters I have ever seen. EVER. It was impossible for me to hate anyone in the anime because everyone had their own inner badass. My two favorite characters were definitely Senji and Minatsuki.

WRITING

OH MY GOD. For the record, I watched the dub, not sub. And boy, was I impressed. There was crude humor, perverseness, and so much swearing. My God, there was so much swearing. I thought I cursed like a sailor, but I’ve ever said half the words that are used in this dub. Hell, I’ve never heard those words used in a dub before! I just fell utterly in love with the writing of this anime. Every line was either hilarious as hell or completely badass.

GRAPHICS/ART STYLE

The anime’s art style definitely fits the theme. This is a gory anime, so there was lots of blood and guts, which I loved. I literally got to see someone get their eye pulled out.

MOE

In a dark show such as this, I wasn’t really expecting much moe. But Shiro’s naivety was just too adorable! Plus, there were shotas in this show. And you know I love shotas.

toto-sakigami-600-626365

ORIGINALITY

Overall, this anime was one of a kind. I could not predict what was going to happen next.

FANSERVICE

Lots of fanservice in this one. Abs, butts, and boobs everywhere.

OST

The opening theme, One Reason, has been on my personal playlist since even before I saw the anime. The lyrics and tune just send  delightful vibes in my direction.

BISHIES

Senji. Duh.

Now, I can’t type the exact quote here, but it is said in the show that every inch of his body is covered in rock-hard muscle. EVERY. INCH.

HUMOR

I lost track of how many times I almost died of laughter while watching this. I’m a very perverted person, so the jokes and innuendos were definitely awesome .

FEELS

Towards the end of the season, there were some points where I wanted to cry.

PURE BADASSERY

SO MUCH. I’m not even exaggerating. Every minuted of this dub was badass. Kudos to the creators.

 

FINAL THOUGHTS

this-anime-is-awesome1

I loved this anime so much. Even though I expected a bit more from the ending, the overall show was entertaining, gritty, and just downright perverted. Deadman Wonderland has definitely climbed its way into my favorites list.

 

9 thoughts on “Dead Center! – Deadman Wonderland Review

  1. The premise of this anime was interesting, but for some reason, I can’t get myself to finish the entire thing (I’m stuck at ep 5.) I’m glad you enjoyed it, but I feel like something’s amiss with the initial script writing. Nice review though!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. While I thoroughly enjoyed watching this, the ending just kind of killed it for me. I’ve watched it through twice and just feel unsatisfied with it when it is done so have put it on the list of anime I like but won’t watch again unless they get either a continuation or a new ending.
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    Like

Like what you see? Let me know what you think!

