Ajin: Demi-Human {REVIEW}

Synopsis

Ajin are humans that cannot die. Seventeen years ago, they first appeared on a battlefield in Africa. From then on, more of their kind are discovered within the human society. Their rarity in appearance means that, for experimental purposes, the government will generously reward anyone who captures one. In the present day, for what a certain high school student expects to be a typical summer holiday, his life is about to turn unexpected…

My Review

This anime had my attention from the very start. I liked the concept that was created. From my analysis on this show, I deduced that there were four groups of people. There’s the government (human) who label Ajins as criminals in order to secretly experiment on them. Then, there are the Ajins that try to hide from the government and the Ajins who attempt to rebel against society and commit terrorist acts in their goal to wipe out the human race. In the midst of this mess, there are the normal everyday citizens who think the problem with the Ajins doesn’t concern them at all. Despite the interesting idea for the plot, it was very hard for me to tell which characters were the good guys and which weren’t. Eventually, I found out that the characters I thought were good were either bad, or had a very nasty dark side. It also turned out that the characters I had immediately singled out as “bad” were even worse. Seriously? I liked the plot, but the confusion just gave me a huge headache.

The main character, Kei, intrigued me throughout the whole season. He spent his life working and studying to be an upstanding citizen, only to be classified as an “untouchable” due to his inability to die. Kinda ironic, right? Towards the end of the season, he does become kind of an asshole. However, I do feel that Kei played his role perfectly. I mean it, he’s like the prince of character development.

After he finds out about his identity as an Ajin, Kei says that despite what they have done to others like him, he could never hate or want to kill humans. After all, he still sees himself as one. This resolve, however, slightly changes when Kei is captured by the government and killed countless times (in very gruesome ways) as a lab experiment.

After he escapes, Kei still shows a slight care for humans, but treats saving them as some sort of unnecessary task. However, he shows little to no sympathy towards the general public. This continues to the point where he willingly stands by and allows the main antagonist to massacre an entire building full of people. Although his actions seem bit harsh, some people, like me, can agree that Kei is a fine example of what effects violence and oppression have on young minds.

Overall, the characters, both good and bad, are what made me like this anime so much. Definitely keeping my fingers crossed for season 2.

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Ajin: Demi-Human {REVIEW}

  1. YOU, YOU
    YOU FINISHED WATCHING IT
    AND DIDN’T TELL ME
    T.T
    I do agree that Ajin has captured my attention, and I do want to finish watching it because it’s been great. Definitely excited for season 2, and for the manga to continue being as awesome as it’s been~

    Liked by 1 person

Like what you see? Let me know what you think!

