Pinky’s Perspective – My Issues with Kirito and Asuna’s Relationship

So, this is technically a birthday post, because Kirito’s birthday is today, and Asuna’s was a week ago. However, I’m really in a ranting mood at the moment, so we’ll just put it under Pinky’s Perspective.

Anyway, let’s begin.

This is Pinky’s Perspective, an extremely biased post where I rant all about anime-related stuff.

To celebrate the birthdays of what may possibly be my least favorite couple in anime, I’ve decided to rant all about how much I dislike their relationship. Just to warn you, I might also stray off topic and rant a bit about SAO itself, because I also dislike the anime. Don’t believe me? Check out the posts here and here.

Okay. Now to start things off:

Kirito and Asuna.

sword-art-online-600-2017850

Believe it or not, I actually ship these two together. And for once, a pairing that I like is actually canon.

In the first arc of SAO, I saw these two as a badass couple who had their ups and downs but continued to fight for each other and their future. I do think that their relationship moved a bit too fast, though. I mean, they were already married and with a kid (not biological) by episode 8!

sword-art-online-600-1944578

But I still rooted for these two. The whole show is about them fighting to escape the game and return to their normal lives. Obviously, some characters needed to be sacrificed in order to reach this goal.

So when Asuna died to protect Kirito, I was heartbroken, but I also respected that ending. Thinking back now, I think the show would’ve been better off it had just ended right then and there. Right after the first arc.

But no. The creators decided to make another arc. Before watching the second arc, I was so excited. Asuna was going to come back to life and my favorite couple (at the time) would be reunited again.

Boy, was I in for a surprise.

sword-art-online-600-1994552

Asuna came back as a damsel in distress who couldn’t do anything to help herself. And guess who her hero was supposed to be. Yup that’s right, the ever-so-arrogant Kirito. And he didn’t even get close to saving her until the 3rd to last episode of the season. Really?!

Although Kirito stated many times that his main goal was to find and save Asuna,  he spent the majority of the arc dealing with his own personal baggage and lusting after his cousin (and a couple of other women). Some boyfriend, right?

Well, it gets even worse.

Asuna, helpless and chained, gets molested by her creepy captor in front of Kirito. This really pissed me off. In order to give Kirito enough balls to man up and defeat his enemy, his girlfriend had to be reduced to some sex toy. Seriously?!

tumblr_inline_nesz750Ewx1rwdv8h.gif

And after that, both of them make it back into the real world, and Kirito races to the hospital to save Asuna….again.

giphy (6).gif

Ugh, remember Aincrad Asuna? You know, the fearless and strong-willed heroine who didn’t need no man?

Yuuki.Asuna.full.2021947.jpg

Yeah, she’s basically just a teenage housewife now. And another addition to Kirito’s harem of helpless heroines.

Yuuki.Asuna.full.1974527.jpg

But wait! She gets her own arc!

Sike! It’s just a girly dramatic sob story about her losing a dear friend.

Sword.Art.Online.240.1995756.jpg

And while all this is happening, Kirito is going on more adventures and finding more buxom females to add to his never-ending harem.

How romantic.

Do I even need to explain why these two aren’t my favorite couple anymore? You know what, I won’t even bother.

3467df7f78118d7cfa9c169031bbf73e

 

9 thoughts on “Pinky’s Perspective – My Issues with Kirito and Asuna’s Relationship

  1. Interesting post. You could have added more that Kirito, even though it was joke, he did try to flirt with Leafa after saving her when he joined ALFeim Online.Maybe it’s just me, but I felt like if Asuna still had her gear and skills, she could have escaped and fought off the creep. Instead, after beating the game, the creepy guy took away her skills and rank and made her like a damsel in distress. I just didn’t how the creators were trying to do a love triangle with Kirito, Leafa, and Asuna. :/

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome Pink-chan! Yeah if Asuna had her skills, it would make things easy. I felt it was unnecessary with the triangle. Maybe it would been better to keep the love between Kirito and Asuna only but then also have the awkward distance with Kirito and Leafa and trying to reconnect as brother and sisters.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel the same way. It was so sad to see their relationship, which at first was so beautiful and had so much promise, go downhill.

    They’re still one of my favorite couples in fiction, but I can’t help but think of what might have been.

    What I wanted to see after the Aincrad Arc was an arc set entirely in the real world — Kirito and Asuna getting readjusted to, and continuing their relationship in, the real world, after everything they’d went through in the virtual world.

    Liked by 1 person

Like what you see? Let me know what you think!

