Guest Blogging – Top Ten Anime That Made Us Cry The Most

Earlier this week, I had a very interesting discussion with the ever-so-sweet HijackedCat. While chatting about sad anime shows, we decided to collab together by making a top ten list on that topic.

So basically, we both have selected five anime series that made us cry. When you put both of our selections together, you get a top ten list.

And because we wanted to mix it up a bit, we are both posting each other’s list on our respective blogs. So I’m posting HijackedCat’s part of the list here, and she’s posting mine on her blog.

Without further ado, I’m giving the spotlight to Cat.

tumblr_maeivzZiin1ru61fxo1_500.gif

Shin Sekai Yori

36775

This is a hard one to describe, and I don’t wanna go into spoilers, since this is supposed to be a spoiler-free list.

Saki is the protagonist, plus her other 4 friends, that slowly starts to unravel the secrets of her small town and also of their powers and the hierarchy of their civilization. Underneath it all, there’s a lot of darkness, and lots of death happen in this anime, which left me not only in tears, it made me go sob to my bed for hours because it was just so brutal (not in a graphic way) and I couldn’t stop thinking about it. This is one that wrecked me so much I can’t rewatch it at all, it’s still fresh and I watched it years ago (இ﹏இ`。)

Air TV

22059

Everyone must know Air, since it’s a Key game, but it’s one that just made me bawl my eyes completely out. I was so depressed and suffering when it ended, I’m unable to rewatch it because of these intense feelings.

For those that don’t know what Air TV is about, it’s about Yukito meeting some girls in a small town and getting to know them better, but that’s the tip of the iceberg. This is an anime about loneliness, suffering, and it’s all about the journey (pun not intended).

Code Geass

50331

If you don’t know CG then….well, I don’t fault anyone since I haven’t seen a lot of series that are considered superb and classic.

CG is about Lelouch, an anti-hero protagonist that wants to uprise against the Empire, which means war and lots of death happen in this show, but the last death was the one that wrecked me the most. I must’ve cried for an hour thanks to this (☍﹏⁰)。

Hybrid Child

65605

This is a BL OVA series, and I’d read the manga before watching this. It did not stop my waterworks. I swear all these anime have someone onions inside them ༼☯﹏☯༽

This one is about android-like created beings that grow with love and care from their masters, and it quickly goes down to emotional and tragic, as masters deal with their past sins, and there’s hard decisions to be made. This was gut wrenching, and yet I wish there was more ༼ ༎ຶ ෴ ༎ຶ༽

Chrno Crusade

14141

This is quite an interesting anime, touching upon Catholicism, demons, saints and the shebang, but it is ultimately a tale about people, their suffering and the lengths they’re willing to go to save their own kin, and what it might cost them. This is an action-packed one, and I never expected it to be as brutal as it was. The last episodes were absolutely wrecking, and I did not get consoled at all. Definitely one to watch! ༼ಢ_ಢ༽

Honorary works that did not make the cut: Escaflowne, Daiya no Ace, Romeo x Juliet, Blood+

Wanna see Pink Chan’s part of the list? Click the link here.

Also, check out Cat’s blog! She posts some really great content there.

28 thoughts on “Guest Blogging – Top Ten Anime That Made Us Cry The Most

    1. Thanks!
      Air is definitely good! Tho I’ll admit to not being able to watch Clannad, Kanon, or any of their others title, after the trauma of Air :’D
      One day…one day I’ll definitely watch them~ ୧(๑❛ั⌔❛ั๑)୨ ॢ

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Take your time :). I still need to see the others besides Clannad. Clannad is the only I ever seen from the creators. If you do plan to watch them, take breaks from. Watch a sad anime and then a funny one. 🙂

        Like

      2. It’s the reason I’m scared of watching them, I’ve heard they’re super tearjerkers, just like Air, and one can only withstand that many feels and tears before renouncing sad animes :’D
        Definitely will have to do breaks when I decide it’s a good time to watch, thanks! (´∀`)

        Liked by 1 person

      3. You’re welcome. I mean, there’s nothing wrong of watching sad anime but be careful of watching too much or will get depressed. I felt awful while watching the sequel Clannad, After Story. If you cry more than once in the first Clannad, you better bring in more packs of tissue because you will cry like a waterfall. XD haha

        Liked by 1 person

      4. However, Clannad does have its moments to laugh and smile. Personally, this a real good slice-of-life anime. It shows a time to laugh and cry. I don’t want to spoil the series but I will say it’s worth it if you finish it.

        Liked by 1 person

Like what you see? Let me know what you think!

