My First Anime – Thirty Day Anime Challenge {Day One}

A Long Time Ago…

My earliest memories of watching anime was when I was a toddler. My big brother moved to New York when I was a baby, so I didn’t (and still don’t) really see much of him. But he did come by every summer. And whenever he came to stay with us, he forced me to watch Dragon Ball Z with him. At the time, I didn’t really understand much about the show and I definitely didn’t know what anime was and that I was watching anime.

My Adventures as a Pokefan

My dearest onii-chan also made me watch Pokemon with him. So yes, I was raised as a pokefan. When I was younger, I would wake up early on Saturdays just so I could watch Pokemon with my big brother. Which Pokemon series, you ask? ALL OF THEM. At the time, the only Pokemon shows that aired were Black and White, Indigo League, and Diamond and Pearl.

And then…

My brother stopped visiting, and I stopped watching anime. Because of that, I slowly wormed my way out of my Pokemon and Dragon Ball Z phase. I locked my Pokemon and Magic the Gathering cards away, and began to focus on other things.

How Stella Got Her Groove Back

Years later, I went to visit my brother in New York. That trip really changed me. After all those years, big bro was still a diehard anime fan. And like anime fans do, he gave me a list of shows to watch. After that, the doors leading me to my past self began to open.

Some of you might be wondering why I’m telling you this. After all, I already told you that my first anime experiences were the hazy memories of Dragon Ball Z and Pokemon. Well there’s more. I’m going to tell you about my first RECENT anime. You know, the one I can actually remember watching all the way through. It’s a funny story actually.

My First Recent Anime

My best friend was and still is a terrible influence on me. A few years back, she told me about this “awesome” new thing she found. It was called hentai. I had no idea what “hentai” was, so I asked her. She told me it was a type of anime. At the time, I was under the impression that “anime” was just another word to describe boring cartoons for kids. So I told my friend that I wasn’t going to watch it.

But, after days of peer pressure and bugging, I finally caved. I went home and looked up anime streaming sites. I didn’t know this at the time, but hentai cannot be found on regular anime streaming sites. So I typed “hentai” into the website’s search engine, and I found only one result. That result ended up being my first anime.

Screenshot 2016-07-31 at 10.43.35 PM.png

And no, this show is not hentai. Because the word “pervert” was in the title (and hentai means pervert), this anime popped up. I was curious, and I watched it. It was pretty damn good. One of the (very) few harem anime I actually like.

So yeah, although I watched Pokemon and DBZ as a young child, Hentai Ouji to Warawanai Neko was the first anime that I fully remember watching. Go check it out, you guys might like it!

This was Day One of the Thirty Day Anime Challenge. Check back in tomorrow for Day Two!

3 thoughts on “My First Anime – Thirty Day Anime Challenge {Day One}

  1. Wow. This is a cool story. (Haha. Cool story, bro. Sorry.)
    But this is sweet. Your brother seems like a big influence in your anime life. Which is cool! I personally never had siblings. So. Life as an only child is fun. Leads to lots of fun moments talking to yourself because you don’t have a cat.
    A cool story. And a good start for the anime challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

Like what you see? Let me know what you think!

