Throwback Thursday

The anime selected this week is Rurouni Kenshin.

rurouni-kenshin-50
Rurouni Kenshin (Rurouni Kenshin: Meiji Kenkaku Romantan) – Genres: Action , Adventure , Comedy , Historical , Romance , Samurai

Synopsis

Himura Kenshin is a vagabond with a dark past and sunny disposition. Not a ronin but a rurouni, he was never a samurai, but an assassin of utmost skill in the Meiji restoration, who in the turning point of the war simply walked away. His travels lead him to Tokyo in the 11th year of the Meiji era, where he befriends a female Kendo master, a former thief, a brawler and a doctor all with their own secrets. Together they fight off the enemies surfacing from the dark past that Kenshin cannot escape.

My Review

I had already seen this anime, but I rewatched it in order to review it for Throwback Thursday. Rurouni Kenshin is one of my all-time favorites and I definitely hold this series in high regards. The characters were funny, and each of them had touching backstories that evolved them into the characters that I came to know and love. I adored the brother-sister relationship between Kaoru and Yahiko. Their spats had me laughing tears!

I feel like this series really showed themes of forgiveness. The main character, Kenshin was an assassin in the war, and was responsible for the deaths of many, even innocents. After the war, he spends the years wandering in order to help others and redeem himself. I found his need to repent for his sins very heartwarming, although it did interfere with his relationship with Kaoru. Although it seemed kind of unrealistic to me, I did understand and respect his vow to never kill another person.

If it’s not obvious by now, I loved Kenshin’s character. Even though he wasn’t one, Kenshin portrayed the perfect honorable samurai. Plus, his skills with the sword were pretty badass!

Overall, this series was just as awesome as it was when I first watched it. The character development was on point and the romance in the series was very touching. Rurouni Kenshin was an awesome anime to watch and continues to be one of my favorites.

 

Hope you enjoyed this week’s Throwback Thursday. If you like this, tune in for more next week. If there’s a show you’d like me to review, let me know in the comments section!

2 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday

Like what you see? Let me know what you think!

